Alfred Fredrickson’s Story

My name is Alfred Fredickson, I am 42-years old and currently live in Abbotsford with my parents.

I grew up on a farm in Aldergrove where we raised cows, chickens and ducks, we also had a greenhouse where we grew lots of different kinds of vegetables.Growing up on the farm was a very healthy & enjoyable way of life.  We eventually sold the farm and moved to Langley then laterto Aldergrove.

During my youth and teenage years, I attended school and later went to college.  When we lived in Aldergrove I worked at the local Otter Co-op grocery store.

I worked there for ten years stocking shelves, placing product and cleaning up.Later we  moved to Abbotsford and I got a job at the Clearbrook Safeway Store where I am currently still employed, it is going on 16 years now.I love my job, working makes me feel important and I must say I enjoy earning my own money.

I work 2 days week for 4 hours a day and attend a day program at MSA Society for Community Living on Tuesdays & Fridays where I learn a lot of different things and meet new people.Mondays is my day off and is usually spent running errands or going to appointments.

I am a member of the Abbotsford Self Advocates Group for the past 16 years, ever since I moved to Abbotsford.I really enjoy participating and being a part of the group & attending the annual Self Advocate Leadership Retreat.I am an avid sports fan and enjoy attending as many home games as possible with family members and friends.

I am an active member of Special Olympics our team took home a silver medal in the 2017 provincials held in Kamloops.I also received a gold medal for most pins overall. I also play golf with my father and a friend from church.I am an usher at the Peace Lutheran Church in Abbotsford where I enjoy mingling and greeting fellow parishioners.

I also enjoy doing things around the house like gardening, raking leaves and cutting the lawn.  I enjoy beating my neighbor every year.I go camping a lot throughout the summer with my parents and sometimes we meet up with other family members & friends.I do a lot of fun things with my respite workers like going to car shows, dog walking, bowling, playing games or attending sporting events.As you can tell I am a busy person and enjoy my life very much.  One day I hope to move out on my own.

[soliloquy id="22174"]


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in Our Stories. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Click to listen highlighted text!