Six new members named to CLBC board

CLBC-200x147 Thursday, July 2, 2015 8:30 PM


VICTORIA – Six new board members, including the board chair, have been named to the board of directors for Community Living BC (CLBC), to oversee the organization and its operations within the policy, mandate and budget set by the B.C. government.

The board of directors brings together individuals with a wide range of experiences and skills. The board includes people involved in and familiar with the community living sector, including a past advocate for service quality and a self advocate.

The six new board members include:

  • Tom Christensen (chair), lawyer and past Minister of Children and Family Development, Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation and Minister of Education
  • Joanne Curry, associate vice-president of external relations with Simon Fraser University
  • Dave Babych, former NHL player and associate director of player development with the Vancouver Canucks
  • David Everett, president of the Duncan Group of Properties
  • Jane Holland, past advocate for service quality
  • Mona Murray, founder and president of Sheridan Property Management

The board of directors works with CLBC management to establish an overall strategic direction for the organization, ensure appropriate community consultation and evaluate service delivery.

Board members are appointed by the Minister of Social Development and Social Innovation for a term of up to three years. The minister may renew a board member for one additional term of up to three years. The six new board members replace directors whose terms expired July 1, 2015.

A backgrounder follows.

Media Contact:

Corinna Filion
Ministry of Social Development and Social Innovation
250 387-6489


Community Living BC – Board member biographies

New board members:

Tom Christensen, chair
Tom served as an MLA for Okanagan-Vernon from 2001-2009 and was appointed Minister of Children and Family Development, responsible for Community Living BC, from 2006-2009. During his time in government, Tom also served as Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation and Minister of Education. Tom graduated from the University of Victoria with a Law degree in 1994 and was called to the B.C. bar in May 1995. Born and raised in Vernon, Tom has been involved in a number of community organizations, having held such positions as president of the Downtown Vernon Association, president of the Literacy and Youth Initiatives Society of North Okanagan and director with the Vernon branch of the Canadian Mental Health Association.

Joanne Curry
Joanne has made a career of advancing the cause of higher education and currently serves as the associate vice-president of external relations and dean of lifelong learning at Simon Fraser University. She is passionate about community engagement and has been involved in several community boards including the TELUS Vancouver Community Board and City of Surrey Mayor’s Technology Group. Joanne holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Manitoba, an MBA from Simon Fraser University and is currently completing a Doctorate of Business in Higher Education at Bath University.

Dave Babych
Dave is a former league player and assistance coach for the Swiss Elite League, as well as a former player for the National Hockey League, including seven years with the Vancouver Canucks. He is currently an associate director of Player Development with the Vancouver Canucks and a partner with Environmental Mats. He is currently involved with a number of charity organizations including the Babych Anglers Charity Challenge, British Columbia Multiple Sclerosis Society and the Canucks Autism Network.

David Everett
David is president of the Duncan Group of Properties and has strong background in finance. He has years of experience serving on community boards, including the Greater Victoria Harbour Authority, Provincial Capital Commission and Langara College. David is involved in the Vancouver sailing community and a supporter of Paralympic sailing.

Jane Holland
Jane served as the advocate for service quality for children with special needs and adults with developmental disabilities to the Minister of Social Development and Social Innovation from 1997 to 2015. She has 25 years professional experience in family and individual advocacy, family support and service quality. Prior to her role with the Ministry of Social Development and Social Innovation, Jane served as the executive director of the Family Support Institute.

Mona Murray
Mona is founder and president of Sheridan Property Management in Kamloops and earned her CPM designation from the Real Estate Institute of BC. She has served on local planning and design committees for urban growth and development and also owns and operates a small hay ranch at Monte Lake about 30 miles east of Kamloops. Mona has been involved with a number of charitable organizations including United Way, Big Brothers and Sisters of Kamloops and Kamloops Child Development.

Current board members:

Onkar Biring
Onkar is a certified motivational speaker who empowers others like himself who are living with a disability. His goal is to demonstrate that people of all abilities can live full and rich lives in community. Onkar attended Kwantlen Polytechnic University in 2008 and he is fluent in both English and Punjabi. From 2013 to 2014, Onkar was a member of one of CLBC’s Lower Mainland Community Councils where he gave voice to the perspectives, goals and ideals of self advocates.

Diane Friedman
Diane has more than 20 years’ experience in corporate finance advisory services and commercial lending. Past board service includes the Food Innovation Centre of BC, Jewish Family Service Association, Victorian Order of Nurses (B.C.), the Association of Women in Finance, and the Women’s Technology Financing Network. Diane has a Commerce Degree from the UBC Sauder School of Business (1992) with a major in Urban Land Economics and in 2009 completed the Certificate in Family Enterprise Advising at the Sauder School of Business (UBC), Business Family Centre.

Elizabeth Hunt
Elizabeth is a Kwakiutl First Nation lawyer and also a professor at Thompson Rivers University. She has a long history of volunteerism in community. She coaches skiing on weekends, and is a member of the Equity and Diversity Committee of the Law Society of BC. Elizabeth is a mother of two young children and lives in Williams Lake.

Roberta Kjelson
Roberta spent her 34-year-long career in communications both in the public and private sector. She has extensive involvement in the Kamloops community through the B.C. Games for Athletes with a Disability, the Kidney Foundation of B.C. and other organizations. Roberta currently serves on the board of trustees for the Kamloops Art Gallery.

Eileen Stewart
Eileen Stewart is a senior human resources professional with extensive experience in both the public and private sectors. Eileen holds a BA in Economics and Commerce and a MBA from Simon Fraser University. Active for many years in the voluntary sector, Eileen is board vice chair for BC Women’s Hospital Foundation, chair of the Research Advisory Council at B.C. Women’s Hospital and advisor to the Board Human Resources Committee for the Vancouver Aquarium.

For a full biography of each board member, please visit CLBC’s website at:

BC Media Contact:

Corinna Filion
Ministry of Social Development and Social Innovation
250 387-6489


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in CLBC. Bookmark the permalink. Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL.
Click to listen highlighted text!